Marshall Steam Museum at Auburn Heights

In Auburn Heights, Delaware, less than five minutes from the heart of Hockessin, Delaware, the Marshall Steam Museum at Auburn Heights provides visitors with an opportunity to step back in time and experience life during the dawn of the automobile era. T. Clarence Marshall created the now-defunct museum in 1947 to display his increasing collection of vintage vehicles, which he began collecting in the 1930s. Because of the generosity and vision of Clarence’s son, Tom, and his wife, Ruth, today’s visitors may take advantage of the many treasures that Auburn Heights has to offer. A fantastic post.


In 2008, they donated the estate land and buildings to the Delaware State Parks, including a beautiful 1897 Queen Anne mansion that served as the Marshall family home. They also presented the extraordinary vehicles from the Marshall collection to the Friends of Auburn Heights Preserve, a 501(c)3 charitable organization that serves the surrounding community. The museum is home to the world’s most extensive operating collection of Stanley steam cars and a 1916 electric car, and two 1930s Packards. The Auburn Valley Railroad, with its 1/8th-scale coal-fired steam trains that circle the property, is also on the premises, as is the Auburn Valley Railroad Museum.


Dedicated to the memory of Thomas and Ruth Marshall, Auburn Valley State Park (formerly Auburn Heights Preserve) is Delaware’s 17th State Park site. With over 360 acres of protected property, the park comprises a 4-acre core estate situated on a hilltop near Red Clay Creek and the historic family mill facilities.


For more than 50 years, the Marshalls have welcomed members of the community to Auburn Heights and the Marshall Steam Museum for special events and celebrations. Even though the home is no longer a private dwelling, it contains memories and antique furniture that chronicle the narrative of three generations of the Marshall family as well as the Auburn Valley Trail, which is a 1.2-mile asphalt loop; the Trolley Trail, which is a half-mile gravel trail that follows the old trolley line along with the mill race; the Yorklyn Bridge Trail, which is now connected to the Auburn Valley Trail by a Marshall Family Bridge; and the Oversee Farm Trail, which is located off Snuff Mill Rd.


Renovations have taken place at the museum, which is exciting! The museum is now open from 1 to 4 p.m. on Thursdays and Fridays (except on significant holidays such as Good Friday, Christmas Eve/Day, and New Year’s Day) starting this week. Admission is $8 for adults and $4 for children (12 & under). For more information, visit their website or contact 302-239-2385.